Photo by Becerra Govea Photo on Pexels.com

A short abstract piece, that grew from the title

These are my barely-breathed truths.

They are the words I would shout, the life I would lead, the jewel of my being. Yet, I whisper them, so they would be forever hidden. They must stay private, just between us.

Now you are the guardian of my deepest thoughts, my precious emotions. I will you to hold them in the cup of your heart, protecting them like a candle flame. The tiny naked flame that flickers and threatens to become extinguished.

“Careful,” I say. “Look after my whispered words.”

“These words might light up the world,” you say.

So, you take them and run, proffering my whispers to others.

I am scared to look. What will happen? Will my light be forever extinguished? It might be that the world is suddenly ablaze with what I gifted to you.

I try to gain courage, whispering once more. This time, when I whisper, only I can hear.

“I love you.”

Leave a comment